
Feedback & Revision
How Much Do Beta Readers Cost? 2026 Rates and Free Options
Romance novelist writing cozy, small-town love stories from a bookshop café in Asheville.
Beta readers can be free. Paid ones, at the services we checked (prices as published on their sites in October 2026), came to between CA$140 for one reader and US$1,200 for a five-reader package on an 80,000-word novel.
Leaving out the Canadian and UK examples, single-reader prices landed between $149 and $189 for a book that length. Free readers come through critique swaps and writing communities, where you pay in time and in critiques of other writers' work.
There is no standard rate, so this post sets out the prices we could verify and what you should get for the money.
StoryWith AI is our own product, so weigh what we say about it accordingly.
Key takeaways
- The Editorial Freelancers Association's 2026 rate chart lists beta reading at 0.5 to 0.8 cents a word, or $50 to $70 an hour.
- For one reader on an 80,000-word novel, prices as published in October 2026 came to CA$140, $149 to $189, or £280 to £320 at a UK editor.
- Multi-reader packages cost more in total, from $278 for two readers to US$1,200 for five readers on an 80,000-word book.
- Marketplace gigs start low but usually cover a limited word count, so a full novel tends to need a custom quote.
- Free options exist, but they cost time: several of the best known ask you to critique other writers before you can post.
- Paying makes most sense once the draft is structurally sound and you have specific questions to ask.
The short version
| Route | What it costs | What to know |
|---|---|---|
| Critique swaps and communities | Free | You give critiques to get them, often chapter by chapter |
| Freelance marketplaces | Gigs from $15, usually for a limited word count | Quality and scope vary from gig to gig |
| One paid reader, full novel | CA$140, $149 to $189, or £280 to £320 in our examples | Usually a written report or questionnaire |
| Several paid readers | $278 to US$1,200 in our 80,000-word examples | Lets you see patterns rather than one opinion |
| EFA survey rate | 0.5 to 0.8 cents a word, $50 to $70 an hour | A benchmark from EFA members, not a price list |
The EFA figure deserves a closer look. Its 2026 rate chart, updated 29 March 2026, is based on a member survey run from November 2025 to mid-January 2026.
It lists beta reading at 0.5 to 0.8 cents a word, $50 to $70 an hour, or $1.25 to $2.00 per 250-word page, at 16 to 40 pages an hour. At the per-word range, an 80,000-word novel would come to $400 to $640 (our arithmetic).
EFA members also reported a mean of $208.70 and a median of $150 per project for beta reading. The chart does not say how long those projects were, so do not read the $150 median as the going price for a full-length novel.
The EFA also states that it does not set rates or advise members on them.
What paid beta readers charge
These are prices from beta readers and services, as published on their sites in October 2026. Listing them is not a recommendation.
| Provider | Type | Published price | About 80,000 words | Readers | Turnaround |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Miranda Reads | Independent beta reader | $2.00 per 1,000 words | About $160 | 1 | 2 weeks or less |
| Future Worlds Editing (UK) | Editor offering beta reads | £3.50 per 1,000 words (letter), £4 with manuscript comments | £280 to £320 (the site's own example) | 1 | Agreed per project |
| Your Beta Reader | Small beta reading service | CA$140 up to 95,000 words, CA$275 for 95,000 to 140,000 | CA$140 | 1 | Varies; CA$40 rush option |
| Writerful Books | Editorial firm | US$165 per reader up to 120,000 words | US$165 per reader | Per reader | Not stated |
| Self-Publishing Review | Review and marketing company | $149 for 1 reader, $139 each for 2, $129 each for 3, $119 each for 4 | $149 to $476 | 1 to 4 | 30 working days |
| Literary Titan | Review and marketing company | From $189 for 1 reader, from $378 for 2 | From $189 | 1 or 2 | Within 45 days |
| Darling Axe ("The Gauntlet") | Editorial firm | US$0.01 a word for 3 readers, US$0.015 a word for 5 | US$800 (3) or US$1,200 (5) | 3 or 5 | Not stated |
Prices as published on each provider's site in October 2026 (checked 14 October 2026), in the currency the site shows: CA$ is Canadian dollars, £ is pounds sterling, US$ where the site names US dollars, and $ where it shows a dollar sign only. The 80,000-word column is our arithmetic. Miranda Reads' page was last updated in 2023, so confirm its rate before booking. Darling Axe's rates are from its current Gauntlet service page.
Two patterns stand out.
Per-reader pricing falls when you buy more readers. Self-Publishing Review's price drops from $149 for one reader to $119 each for four. On 80,000 words, Darling Axe works out to about US$267 a reader for three and US$240 a reader for five.
Word limits matter. Your Beta Reader's base price covers up to 95,000 words, and Writerful Books asks for a quote above 120,000. A long fantasy can move you into a higher band.
Freelance marketplaces
Marketplaces such as Fiverr and Upwork list many beta readers, often at low starting prices. The catch is that a starting price usually covers a sample or a capped word count.
Fiverr. We could not check Fiverr's beta reading category or search pages, so we cannot tell you a typical price. The individual gigs we could open on 14 October 2026 ranged widely:
- A $15 basic tier covering 5,000 words, delivered in 3 days.
- A $65 tier covering up to 30,000 words, for short stories and novellas, in 7 days.
- A $240 tier covering 10,000 words in 7 days, with an hourly option.
Many gigs price by word-count tiers, so a full novel usually needs a custom quote.
Upwork. Its beta reading page showed listings starting at $25 to $45 on 14 October 2026, and its FAQ says rates usually start around $40.
Treat marketplace gigs like any other hire. Read the scope, check the word limit, and ask for a sample of a past report.
What you should get for the money
Paid beta reading is a reader's reaction, not an edit. One independent reader we checked states plainly that the service is not line editing, proofreading or developmental editing.
What the services above describe as the deliverable:
- A written report. Future Worlds Editing offers a 2 to 3 page feedback letter. Self-Publishing Review describes a page-long report with grades for plot, characters, style, editing, marketability and overall enjoyment.
- Chapter-level notes. Miranda Reads describes a short summary after each chapter, an overall summary of at least 1.5 pages, and answers to your questions.
- Your own questions. Your Beta Reader uses a questionnaire you can add to. Darling Axe's readers answer a standard list, plus up to three questions of yours.
- Optional extras. Future Worlds Editing lists an £80 flat-rate editorial assessment as an add-on, and Your Beta Reader offers a CA$40 rush.
Before you pay anyone, get these in writing: the word limit, the turnaround, the format of the feedback, whether you can add questions, and what happens to your manuscript afterwards.
If what you really want is a professional diagnosis of structure, that is a manuscript assessment, which the EFA chart lists at 1.5 to 1.8 cents a word. The book editing cost calculator works out editing costs for your word count.
Red flags
These are reasons to slow down, not proof that a reader is bad.
- No stated word limit or turnaround. Vague scope makes it hard to compare prices or hold anyone to a date.
- Editing promised as part of a beta read. A beta reader reacts as a reader. If you need editing, buy editing.
- Feedback that rewrites your prose. A reader's job is to tell you how the book felt, not to hand back their version of it.
- Praise with no specifics. Ask for a sample report. If it never mentions a particular scene or character, yours probably will not either.
- Feedback that may not be human. One 2026 publishing guide (HMD Publishing) warns that some cheap feedback may be AI-generated. Ask how the reading is done.
- No word on confidentiality. You are sending an unpublished book. Ask who will see it and whether the file is deleted afterwards.
Free ways to get beta readers
Free routes cost time instead of money. Most are reciprocal, and on critique sites you usually post a chapter or excerpt at a time rather than the whole book (r/DestructiveReaders suggests about 1,500 words or fewer per post).
| Free option | What it asks of you |
|---|---|
| Scribophile | Earn karma by critiquing other members' work, then spend 5 karma points to post a piece. Basic and Premium members both spend karma to post. |
| Critique Circle | Free membership. Critique a couple of stories to earn credits, then spend credits to submit your own. An optional premium subscription adds features. |
| r/BetaReaders (Reddit) | Free to post. According to a July 2026 guide, post titles must say whether the draft is complete and give word count and genre, and work already posted publicly is not eligible. Check the current rules. |
| r/DestructiveReaders (Reddit) | Blunt critique on a critique-to-submission ratio. Per the subreddit's FAQ, the pieces you critique must add up to at least the length of yours, and only high-effort critiques from the last three months count. Check the live rules. |
| Goodreads Beta Reader Group | Free to join; a July 2026 guide says a moderator approves new members. Readers there may work for free, for pay, or as a critique swap. |
| Discord servers and Facebook groups | Many writers find swap partners there. Rules on swaps and self-promotion vary by group. |
Requirements as described on Scribophile's and Critique Circle's own pages, the r/DestructiveReaders FAQ, an ebookpbook guide (July 2026) and Kirkus Reviews, checked 14 October 2026. Communities change their rules, so check before you post.
For more places to look, see our guide on where to find beta readers.
Make any beta read count
Paid or free, a beta read is only as useful as the draft and the questions you send with it.
Fix structural problems first. A beta reader can only read your book for the first time once. If the middle sags or a subplot vanishes, they will spend their attention on problems you could have found yourself.
Ask three to five specific questions. "Did you like it?" gets politeness, while "Where did you start skimming?" and "Who did you stop caring about?" get answers you can use. Our beta reader questionnaire has questions you can borrow.
Try a simulated first read. StoryWith AI's reader personas test a chapter on three to five simulated readers, each reporting on engagement, clarity, emotional impact and genre fit. It is a first pass to catch obvious problems, not evidence of how real readers will respond. More on how that works on the AI beta reader page.
Look for patterns. One reader is an opinion. When several readers flag the same scene, that is the note to act on.
Running readers yourself
If you already have readers (friends, swap partners or paid readers), the cost is mostly in organizing them. Notes scattered across emails and comment threads are hard to compare.
StoryWith AI's real reader feedback lets you invite up to 20 beta readers to a private feedback session through a share link. You ask your own questions and see their reactions mapped chapter by chapter, and the draft is never handed over as a file.
You bring the readers; StoryWith AI runs the session. The Author plan ($19 a month) includes 3 reader feedback sessions a month, or 4 on yearly billing, and Pro ($39 a month) has unlimited sessions. Details are on the pricing page.
If you only need one paid reader's report on one draft, a beta reading service may be simpler. Software helps most when you run several readers or several rounds.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
Do beta readers get paid?
Some do and some do not. Many beta readers work for free or as a critique swap, while others charge a fee, from marketplace gigs to services with published price lists.
How much do beta readers charge per word?
The EFA's 2026 rate chart lists 0.5 to 0.8 cents a word. Among prices as published on providers' sites in October 2026, one independent reader charges $2.00 per 1,000 words, and a UK editor charges £3.50 to £4 per 1,000 words.
How much does a beta reader cost for a full novel?
For an 80,000-word novel, one reader at the services we checked (prices as published on their sites in October 2026) cost CA$140, $149 to $189, or £280 to £320 at a UK editor. Packages of three or five readers cost US$800 to US$1,200 at one firm.
What is a typical Fiverr beta reader price?
We could not check Fiverr's category pages, so we cannot give a typical price. Individual gigs we opened ranged from $15 for a 5,000-word read to $240 for 10,000 words, so compare word limits, not headline prices.
Is one paid beta reader enough?
One reader gives you one opinion. Several readers let you see which problems repeat, and some services sell multi-reader packages at a lower price per reader.
How long does a paid beta read take?
Published turnarounds we saw included 2 weeks or less, 30 working days, and within 45 days. Some services do not state one, so ask before you pay.
Is a beta read the same as a manuscript assessment?
No. A beta reader reacts as a reader. A manuscript assessment is an editor's diagnosis of the book's big-picture problems, and the EFA lists it at 1.5 to 1.8 cents a word, well above its beta reading rate of 0.5 to 0.8 cents.





