
Feedback & Revision
Manuscript Critique Services: 2026 Costs and What You Get
Romance novelist writing cozy, small-town love stories from a bookshop café in Asheville.
A manuscript critique (also sold as a manuscript assessment, evaluation or editorial assessment) is a professional read of your whole book that ends in a written report on what works, what does not, and what to fix first. The editor does not touch your pages much. You do the revision.
In 2026 the EFA rate survey puts a manuscript assessment at 1.5 to 1.8 cents a word, so an 80,000-word novel lands around $1,200 to $1,440. Published prices from real services for that length run from £705 (Jericho Writers) to $2,400 (the top of Darling Axe's per-word range), depending on who reads it and what comes with the report.
StoryWith AI is our own product, so weigh what we say about it accordingly.
Key takeaways
- A critique costs about half what a developmental edit costs, because you get a report, not a marked-up manuscript worked line by line.
- EFA 2026 benchmarks: assessment 1.5 to 1.8 cents a word; developmental edit 3.0 to 3.5 cents (fiction) and 4.0 to 5.0 cents (non-fiction).
- At 100,000 words, that is $1,500 to $1,800 for an assessment versus $3,000 to $3,500 for a fiction developmental edit.
- Published full-manuscript prices we checked range from £400 (Galley Beggar Press, up to 60,000 words, listed as sold out) to a course bundle at The Novelry priced at £3,995.
- Buy a critique when you do not yet know what is wrong with the book. Buy a developmental edit when you know and want hands-on help fixing it.
- Free and cheap passes (critique swaps, beta readers, AI pre-reads) should come first, so the paid reader spends their time on judgment calls.
What is a manuscript critique, and how is it different from a developmental edit or a beta read?
All three look at the big picture: plot, structure, character, pacing, point of view, and whether the book delivers on its genre promise. The difference is depth of intervention and who is doing the reading.
A critique or assessment gives you a report, usually 5 to 20 pages, sometimes with light margin notes. It diagnoses. A developmental edit adds detailed comments throughout the manuscript and often a longer editorial letter. It diagnoses and prescribes, scene by scene. A beta read is a reader's reaction, not an editor's diagnosis. It tells you where readers got bored or confused, but rarely why.
Reedsy's own editorial assessment page says a developmental edit with line-level commentary typically costs about 30% more than an assessment letter (Reedsy). The EFA chart shows a wider gap, closer to double.
| Critique / assessment | Developmental edit | Beta read | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Output | Written report, light notes | Report plus detailed manuscript comments | Reader reactions, often a questionnaire |
| Who reads | Professional editor | Professional editor | Readers in your genre |
| Best for | Finding out what the main problems are | Fixing known structural problems | Testing reader experience |
| EFA 2026 rate | 1.5 to 1.8 cents a word | 3.0 to 3.5 (fiction), 4.0 to 5.0 (non-fiction) | Not on the chart |
Rates as listed on the EFA 2026 rate chart on 19 October 2026.
How much does a manuscript critique cost?
The Editorial Freelancers Association 2026 chart is based on a member survey covering rates charged in 2025. It lists Manuscript Assessment/Evaluation at 1.5 to 1.8 cents a word, or $40 to $54 an hour. The per-project figures for assessments show a median of $600 and a mean of about $856, which tells you many reported jobs were shorter works or partials.
The EFA says plainly that it does not set or recommend rates. Treat these as the middle of the market, not a price list.
Here is the arithmetic at common lengths.
| Word count | Assessment (1.5 to 1.8¢) | Dev edit, fiction (3.0 to 3.5¢) | Dev edit, non-fiction (4.0 to 5.0¢) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 60,000 | $900 to $1,080 | $1,800 to $2,100 | $2,400 to $3,000 |
| 80,000 | $1,200 to $1,440 | $2,400 to $2,800 | $3,200 to $4,000 |
| 100,000 | $1,500 to $1,800 | $3,000 to $3,500 | $4,000 to $5,000 |
| 120,000 | $1,800 to $2,160 | $3,600 to $4,200 | $4,800 to $6,000 |
Calculated from the EFA 2026 rate chart as listed on 19 October 2026.
Reedsy's marketplace data runs higher. Its editing cost guide, last updated February 2026, gives editorial assessment at 1.8 to 2.9 cents a word, drawing on what it describes as thousands of real editor quotes, with $2,000 as the 80,000-word example (Reedsy cost guide). Its assessment page cites a 2.5 cent average.
To run your own word count against every editing stage at once, use our free editing cost calculator, which works from EFA rates.
What do real manuscript critique services charge?
We checked each service's own pricing page today and included only those that publish a price. Some well-known consultancies, such as Cornerstones, quote per project from your word count, so they are not in the table.
| Service | Published price | What the page says you get | Turnaround stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Jericho Writers (UK) | Banded by length: £560 (40k to 60k), £705 (75k to 80k), £870 (95k to 100k), £1,010 (110k to 120k) | Report of about 3,500 words, commercial advice, email follow-up questions | 3 to 4 weeks per its FAQ (express 2 weeks, higher prices) |
| The Literary Consultancy (UK) | £650 up to 60,000 words, then £8 per extra 1,000 words; partials from £350 | Written report from a matched editor, plus two guidance PDFs | 4 to 5 weeks; 10 business days for 40% extra |
| Writer's Digest 2nd Draft (US) | $4 per page, 50 consecutive pages minimum | Overall evaluation of strengths and weaknesses, market feedback, recurring grammar issues flagged | Not stated |
| Darling Axe (Canada) | The Foundry developmental critique: 2 to 3 cents a word (USD) | Written critique plus marked-up manuscript with scene-level comments | Not stated on the services page |
| Darling Axe hook assessment | Flat rate for the first 10,000 words: $400 USD on its own page ($300 on the services overview) | Written critique and marked-up opening | Up to 4 weeks, typically 2 |
| The Novelry (UK/US) | No standalone price; included in The Finished Novel Course at £3,995 or $4,995 (the page says this rises to £4,995 or $5,995 on 1 November) | About 20-page report, marked-up manuscript, pitch review, 45-minute recorded debrief | 6 to 8 weeks, not guaranteed |
| Galley Beggar Press (UK) | £400 for up to 60,000 words | Page does not specify the report format | Not stated; listed as sold out |
Prices as listed on each vendor's own page on 19 October 2026. TLC fees include VAT for UK residents; its report, guidance PDFs and 4 to 5 week turnaround are described on its manuscript assessment page.
Two notes on reading that table. Writer's Digest does not state words per page, but its required format is double-spaced 12-point, which usually lands near 250 words a page. On that assumption, an 80,000-word novel is about 320 pages, or roughly $1,280.
The Darling Axe hook assessment shows two different prices on two of its own pages. Confirm before you book.
Worked costs at four lengths
Using only the published figures above (WD at our 250-words-a-page assumption):
| Word count | Jericho Writers | TLC | WD 2nd Draft (est.) | Darling Axe Foundry |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 60,000 | £560 | £650 | about $960 | $1,200 to $1,800 |
| 80,000 | £705 | £810 | about $1,280 | $1,600 to $2,400 |
| 100,000 | £870 | £970 | about $1,600 | $2,000 to $3,000 |
| 120,000 | £1,010 | £1,130 | about $1,920 | $2,400 to $3,600 |
Calculated from prices as listed on each vendor's own page on 19 October 2026.
The UK consultancies come in under the EFA midpoint once you convert. The Darling Axe Foundry sits between an assessment and a developmental edit in both price and depth, because you get manuscript comments, not just a report.
What should you get for the money?
A useful critique does four things. It tells you the two or three problems that matter most, in order. It ties each problem to specific chapters or scenes. It explains why the problem matters for this book in this genre. And it gives you a revision path you can actually follow.
Before you pay, check the page or ask for these specifics:
- Full read or partial. Some services price a "critique" on the first 50 pages. That is a hook check, not an assessment.
- Report length. Jericho states about 3,500 words; The Novelry states about 20 pages; Cornerstones states 8 to 10 pages for its developmental critique. A two-page letter on a 100,000-word book is thin.
- Margin notes or not. If you want scene-level comments, you are buying something closer to a developmental edit. Pay for it knowingly.
- Follow-up. Email questions, a call, or nothing. A 45 to 60 minute call is often where the most useful advice comes out.
- Who reads it. Ask for the editor's genre experience and published credits you can check.
What are the red flags?
Watch for these before you hand over a manuscript and a card number.
- Vague pricing with no word count. A serious service prices by length or quotes after seeing it. "From $299" with no definition of what that buys is a warning.
- Promises about agents, deals or sales. No assessor can guarantee representation. Commercial advice is fine; guarantees are not.
- Upsell-first reports. If the report mostly says the book needs the same company's developmental edit, ask for the diagnosis without the sales pitch.
- No named editor. You should know who is reading, and be able to look them up.
- Generic feedback. Comments that could apply to any novel ("deepen your characters") without scene references mean the reader skimmed.
- No sample or refund terms. Writer's Digest states no refunds. That is honest, but it means you should be sure before buying.
How do you prepare so the critique is worth the fee?
Most wasted critique money goes on problems the writer could have found alone. A professional who spends a paragraph on a timeline slip or a dropped subplot is not spending it on whether your midpoint lands.
Do these before you book:
- Finish at least two full drafts. A critique of a first draft mostly tells you it is a first draft.
- Run your own structural pass. Outline the book scene by scene and check each one has a purpose.
- Get reader reactions first. Two or three beta readers in your genre will catch boredom and confusion for free. If they disagree with each other, sort it out using a method like the one in handling conflicting beta reader feedback.
- Clean the surface. Typos do not change the verdict, but they distract a reader you are paying by the word.
- Write a one-page brief. Genre, comparable titles, target reader, and the three questions you most want answered. Good assessors read this first.
- Format to their spec. Writer's Digest, for example, may return files that do not meet its page format.
Where do cheaper and free options fit?
A critique is one stage, not the whole feedback plan. Cheaper options are not worse versions of it; they do different jobs.
Critique swaps and writing groups cost time, not money. You read their book, they read yours. Quality depends on the partner, and full-length swaps are slow.
Beta readers tell you how the book feels to read. Use them before and after a paid critique.
Partials and hook assessments are a smart first spend if you are querying. A £350 TLC partial or a 50-page Writer's Digest critique ($200 at the minimum) tests the opening before you pay for the whole book.
Funded schemes exist. The Literary Consultancy runs a Free Reads bursary scheme for low-income UK writers, partly funded by Arts Council England, and its fees page lists a 10% discount for low-income writers.
AI pre-reads catch mechanical structural issues fast: continuity slips, unpaid setups, sagging pacing. They are a first pass, not a verdict on whether the book works for readers. You can paste up to about 10,000 words into the free manuscript readiness score to see where an opening stands before spending anything.
Where StoryWith AI fits
StoryWith AI reads the manuscript you wrote and reports on structure, setups and payoffs, pacing, dialogue, continuity, theme, scene purpose and character arcs. Findings go into one ranked list sorted by severity and linked to the exact scene.
The useful moment is just before you book a paid critique. A book-level pass of a 90,000-word novel uses about 18 AI text actions, plus 5 once for importing it, so the free plan's 50 one-time actions cover one such pass with some to spare. Paid plans start at $19 a month (pricing). Fix what it flags, and the editor you pay spends their time on judgment, not on things software can spot.
It is the wrong tool if you want a human's read on voice, market fit or whether the book moves people. It does not replace an editor. It also does not do line-level proofreading in Word or Google Docs; ProWritingAid or Grammarly is the better fit there.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)
What is a manuscript critique service?
It is a paid professional read of your manuscript that ends in a written report on its strengths, weaknesses and revision priorities. It focuses on big-picture issues like plot, structure, character and pacing. You carry out the revisions yourself.
How much does a manuscript critique cost for an 80,000-word novel?
The EFA 2026 rate range of 1.5 to 1.8 cents a word gives $1,200 to $1,440. Published prices we checked on 19 October 2026 include £705 at Jericho Writers and £810 at The Literary Consultancy for that length. Reedsy's 2026 guide uses $2,000 as its 80,000-word example.
Is a manuscript assessment the same as a manuscript critique?
Mostly, yes. UK services tend to say "assessment," US services "critique" or "evaluation," and Reedsy uses "editorial assessment." Always check what the deliverable is, because some services use "critique" for a partial read of 50 pages.
Should I get a critique or a developmental edit?
Get a critique when you sense the book is not working but cannot say why. Get a developmental edit when you know the main problems and want detailed, scene-level help fixing them. A developmental edit costs roughly twice as much on the EFA chart.
When in the process should I get a manuscript critique?
After at least two full drafts, your own structural pass, and a round of beta readers. Earlier than that, you pay a professional to point out things you would have found yourself.
Are cheap manuscript critiques worth it?
A low price for a full read of a novel usually means a short report or a partial. That can still be useful if you know what you are buying. A partial or hook assessment is a reasonable first spend if you plan to query agents.
Can AI replace a manuscript critique?
No. AI analysis is good at mechanical checks like continuity, unpaid setups and pacing patterns, and it is fast and cheap. It cannot tell you whether your book works for real readers or the market. Use it to clear the easy problems before a human reads.





